We speak: flagEnglish, flagSpanish, flagPolish, flagUrdu
Call us

Free Consultation


DuPage County Uninsured Driver Lawyers

Skilled Assistance with Violations for Driving Without Insurance in Illinois

Driving without insurance can lead to serious consequences, including heavy fines and fees to have your vehicle registration reinstated. Aggravated circumstances such as causing bodily harm to another person while operating an uninsured motor vehicle can incur criminal charges as well. If you have been cited for driving a vehicle without insurance in Illinois, it is important to speak with an experienced traffic violation lawyer, so you understand your rights and options.

Since 1979, Mevorah & Giglio Law Offices has provided skilled legal guidance to individuals cited for driving without insurance in Chicagoland and throughout Northern Illinois. Our award-winning attorneys are former prosecutors and former public defenders with an in-depth knowledge of the inner workings of the Illinois judicial system. We understand what it takes to minimize or eliminate the consequences of legal problems and secure positive outcomes for our clients.

We have been recognized by our peers not only for our experience and skill, but also for our tireless commitment to defending the rights of our clients. Our lawyers are honest, straightforward, accessible, and approachable. We know that even a so-called petty traffic offense such as driving without insurance can create costly problems down the road, and we do everything possible to keep this from happening to our clients.

Driving Without Insurance in Illinois

To be in compliance with Illinois law, you must have liability insurance coverage on your vehicle. The minimums are as follows:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury or death;
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury or death; and
  • $20,000 for property damage.

During the vehicle registration process, you agree to maintain these minimum coverages. Illinois monitors vehicle insurance compliance through random questionnaires and verification of proof during vehicle traffic stops. If you fail to respond to a questionnaire with the required information or fail to provide proof of insurance at a traffic stop, you face a minimum fine of $500 and suspension of your license plates. A fine of $1,000 will apply if you are cited for driving after your license plates have been suspended for a previous violation of driving without insurance. You may also be required to file an SR-22 certificate with the Illinois Secretary of State (SOS) if you have multiple offenses.

If you are driving without insurance and cause an accident that results in injuries to others, you may also be charged with a Class A Misdemeanor. In most cases, a first or second offense may be punished by a fine of $500 to $1,000. However, a third offense carries a mandatory fine of $2,500, and you may also be sentenced to up to one year in county jail.

Contact Our Lombard Driving Without Insurance Defense Attorneys

There are ways to avoid most (if not all) of the consequences of driving a vehicle without insurance, depending on the circumstances. At Mevorah & Giglio Law Offices, we will thoroughly examine your case and help you obtain SR-22 insurance (if necessary) so you can get back on the road again. We can also represent you at your Secretary of State hearing or any criminal proceedings. For a free consultation with one of our skilled driving without insurance lawyers in Illinois, contact our office today at 630-932-9100.

badge badge badge badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top