Married parents often move from one state to another with their children. After a divorce in Illinois, parents who share parenting time with their former spouse may be required to obtain permission from their former spouse and the court before they can move.
This article discusses the conditions around moving with a child after divorce. Whether you are a parent trying to stop your child from being relocated or a parent seeking to relocate a child, having an experienced family law attorney is essential.
How Far Can We Move Without Permission?
Illinois law requires a parent moving more than 25 miles away or crossing state lines to request permission from the other parent (this is broadened to 50 miles away if the parent lives outside of the Chicago area). If the responding parent does not consent to the move, then the parent requesting the move must file a petition with the court and show that the move would be in the child’s best interests....